AMVs on Youtube

I’ve recently started experimenting with making AMVs (anime music videos) using video game footage (mostly Final fantasy, Xenosaga, although there’s Legend of Dragoon, Xenogears, Parasite Eve, and others in there too). I’d love some feedback and opinions if you guys want to check them out.

Go to www.youtube.com , and find movies by the user theladyphoenix. To go in order, start with VG Amalgamation Parts 1 and 2, then VG Experimentation, and finally VG Romance.

Be kind, I’m still learning how to do this, but I thought some of you might be interested. :slight_smile:

[ 10-21-2006, 01:00 PM: Message edited by: ladyphoenix ]

Still watching…(Darn…my persocon’s always so slow when it comes to downloads…sigh)
It’s pretty good though… :slight_smile:
Wonder what’s in the 2nd part?

I personally think such videos are, to put it nicely, not a nice idea.

I’m finally done watching all of them…
No, I won’t download them any more…though…
It’s pretty nice…

why are they not a good idea?

Why?

I’d also like to know why.

Yes me too??

Because the music has no relation whatsoever to the images being shown. It’s all out of context.

Um… the whole point of making one, unless the author is terrible at it, is that the music DOES have a relation to the images being shown. The images are being specially chosen to match the music and go along with the theme, emotion, and words. Don’t you know how this works? :slight_smile:

(I have a couple of videos where the anime chosen is more appropriate than the official music video!)

I haven’t seen ladyphoenix’s videos in particular though.

Yeah, I guess, but most really don’t, and it still looks out of context regardless to me.

nod It’s an artistic skill, and a lot of people don’t really have the knack for it. The majority of the AMVs I download get trashed immediately because they don’t quite work, but some are very good.

I was just thinking, woudldn’t AMVs violate some type of RIAA* type thing?

*RIAJ!