More X-Change 3 problems.

Hate to bring up an old subject, but I’ve already given the information to Peter Payne and he hasn’t contacted me about it after about a month. Shingo was unable to help, as he did not work on the project.

We all know that X-Change 3 had some… problems in the translation process.

Namely, two issues.

1. A loli character involved in a maid scene. This was deleted and purged.
  2. A rape scene that had CG edited and dialog cut. This was fixed via a patch from Peach Princess. Kudos to them for that.

Now, the problem is that I started playing the Japanese version of the game, looking for data differences via means I will not discuss here. I got bored and started exploring the memory room. Here’s where the problem is.

There was a lot more dialog deleted then we thought. Not from the rape, not from the loli sequence. No, the dialog deleted was for the two tutoring sessions. A small bit for the first one, a very large amount from the second. Now, I don’t speak much Japanese, but what I did pick up was not offensive, illegal, immoral, or anything I could see being cut for a reason.

The second scene, one major difference is that the boys spend a lot more time looking at Takuya and talking to each other. Takuya also has more comments and thoughts. However, the MAJOR difference is that instead of just going down on the one kid, Takuya actually seems to FLIRT with him for an extended period, talking to him. THEN he/she goes down on him, but even that has cut dialog with Takuya talking and teasing him. There is a LOT of dialog missing from this segment in the English version.

Theories:

1. The programmers accidentally deleted some of this audio while dealing with the other two problems.
  2. The programmers were lazy and didn’t feel like translating these segments, figuring that keeping the main sex segment was enough.