Need electronic dictionary advice

I think I’m far enough along in my Japanese studies to buy a Japanese electronic dictionary. Specifically, I want one that does handwriting recognition, to let me be able to type in (and look up) kanji without having to page thru by stroke count. Which one do you guys use? I’m a beginner, so Japanese - English would be ideal. But Japanese - Japanese might be OK, if it does Kanji → Hiragana so I can … look it up again. (This is still an improvement over “page thru by stroke count” which is what I’m doing now.)

I don’t really know much about electronic dictionaries, but there are some very good free resources online. I primarily use the Sanseido Japanese-Japanese web dictionary to look up unknown words, and then cross-reference if needed with WWWJDIC (integrated with the Rikaichan add-on for Firefox), which I use to get the readings for a word, and/or the English definition if I can’t understand the Japanese one. I’ve got a copy of ??? (The Challenge Elementary School Japanese Language Dictionary), which has furigana on every kanji, but I don’t use it as often, as it’s a paper dictionary, it doesn’t have that many entries, and the definitions usually aren’t as concise as those in Sanseido.

For kanji, I also use WWWJDIC - even when searching by stroke count it doesn’t take too long to find the appropriate kanji, as they are all listed on the screen. Using the SKIP method on WWWJDIC might be a bit quicker though (although I definitely wouldn’t recommend getting the Kodansha Kanji Learner’s Dictionary as there are a lot of reasonably common kanji that aren’t listed in it, plus looking them up by hand is definitely slower).

What about the “Kodansha’s essential Kanji dictionary” ? It seems to have all the ones I’ve looked up but then again I probably already know the common Kanji that aren’t in the book you mentioned.

On an other note, I agree with Ignosco in this matter so there’s not much more for me to really say~