Porting DOS dsims?

I am the proud owner of a few older JAST titles for MS-DOS. Unfortunately, since getting a newer computer system with WinXP I have been unable to play them.

Not-so-recently I stumbled upon the very well done Mirror Moon “Tsukihime” English translation, which due to the nature of the game uses the same data files as the original, with a different engine/executable. As a hobby programmer myself, this prompted me to think, maybe the same thing can be done with these DOS games, that is, create a Windows executable that can read the original data files. I started reading through them with a hex editor… and realized just how hard this might be.

The question behind all this rambling is: does anyone have or is JAST willing to share information on the graphics (.GRA) and script (.OVL) data format for these games? I have made some progress with the OVLs (I think) but the GRAs have me completely stumped; I can get the width and height but not much more, as it seems to use some type of compression.

(P.S. If anything ever comes of this project, of course, I have no intention of distributing game files; only the new executable, so that others can enjoy their games in Windows too. :slight_smile:

(P.P.S. Better yet, if there’s already such a program available, can you point me to it?)

EDIT:

All but unable. I have a much older system I can use, but would rather not.

[ 03-31-2007, 03:12 AM: Message edited by: CompMan44 ]

Can always try dosbox to try to run those oldies. I’ve tried it on a few of my ENGLISH dos games and it seems to work.

That’s what I’ve been doing. Among other issues, it has a monochrome LCD-- I can hook it up to a color monitor, but I’ve only got one of those, and it’s usually connected to my XP computer. Besides that, though, I especially want to do this as a proof-of-concept programming exercise. n_n

And yes, they are in English; that’s not a problem.