Question regarding Figures of Happiness, anime humor

Okay, so I’m somewhat new to the world of Erotic games, having recently made a $600 order for what I assume is the entire downloadable catalogue of the Peach Princess/J-List/G-Collections/etc. conglomerate, and played about 11 or 12 of them over the past few weeks.

I loved playing Amorous Professor Cherry, The Sagara Family, Kana: Little Sister, and Crescendo, but hated Slave Pageant and Water Closet mostly because scenarios in which the player (via the first-person avatar) rapes the female characters really squick me, and when said relationships then become inexplicably consensual, that squicks me even more.

So, my most recent game was Figures of Happiness, and I found it awesome and disappointing all at once. Some of my complaints are listed in a GameFAQs review and associated message board topic I posted, but I’d like to at least address a question about the sort of humor that appears therein to an audience where it will at least have some chance of being read and answered.

The humor in the game was nonsensically silly, and very much not to my taste. Once I made the (seemingly groundless, but I discuss that in detail in the links) choice of staying with Minamo in the second half of the game I began to enjoy the naivety and indecisiveness of her charaacter, but some of her behavior was just annoying. Kokoro, on the other hand, I absolutely hated, hamsters and all; she reminded me of the sort of humor I saw in anime series that I watched with friends in college, like Excel Saga and the Rurouni Kenshin series, that I hated just as much. I’m not humorless; I laughed out loud at the team-Ryo caper which caps the best storyline featuring Kaori (the school nurse) in Crescendo, it’s just that the sort of humor in Figures of Happiness really impaired my enjoyment of the storyline (which did manage to bring me close to tears regardless).