Rare VNs

I thought it would be interesting to dicuss some rare VN’s. If you have some collection post about how you came across it.

I have been collecting VNs since the early 2000’s. Many of the releases from back then is rare nowadays. Unfortunately, I don’t still have most of my boxes - ran out of space for those. But I actually own Ever 17 on disc; I also own Divi Dead.

@Nandemonai said:
I have been collecting VNs since the early 2000’s. Many of the releases from back then is rare nowadays. Unfortunately, I don’t still have most of my boxes - ran out of space for those. But I actually own Ever 17 on disc; I also own Divi Dead.

How many of those discs still work though?

Ohh, Divi Dead was a good one, they even got a dreamcast hack for it XD

I have a couple of domestic (USA) releases that probably qualify as being kind of rare – not necessarily super-valuable in terms of dollar value, but definitely hard to find. To be honest, in basically every instance these were eBay finds…

1. Viper V-16: Hyper Animation Series – Released by Sogna / Hobibox Europe for Windows 95/98, but shockingly this dude still runs on Windows 10 with no noticeable problems other than my antivirus thinking its .exe file is malware, haha. This is one of my favorite old, rare games. It’s almost less a visual novel than a short interactive cartoon on CD-ROM. The owner started off selling this one quite high, but patience paid off, and I got it for a reasonable cost on the second or third re-list.
    - YouTube

2. Graduation for Windows '95 – This was a weird, botched attempt by TokyoPop to enter the visual novel business under the pseudonym “Mixx Games”; this is their only title. Surprisingly, I think this one also plays okay on Windows 10! Kind of a standard dating / raising sim where you help a group of high school girls toward graduation. It’s mainly notable today for its hilariously bad voice acting and huge-ass game box that contained nothing but the game in a thin paper sleeve.