Refresh my memory, Lamuness...

Well, I remember that you said something before about the “text-box”, or whatever the little box where we see the displayed dialouge in bishoujo game is displayed are called… you said something about that since the textbox is for the Japanese language, it isn’t just so that you just can “put some text” int he box, which mant seem to believe… care to explain again what you said at that time? I’ve been thinking about some things there… Even if you can’t replace the text there, couldn’t you simply make a “new” textbox that “overwrittes” the old one? Or something like that (I’m no pro in matters like this )

well, there is no stuck term on this…can be a text box, dialogue box, but most commonly known as message window…it’s just where the text is displayed.

Kumiko may probably have explained this already somehow, but I don’t think this much in depth mainly because Kumiko doesn’t know Japanese in the first place. So I guess I will step in since I know 5 languages myself…alright, be warned, this will be a long post and I hope it’s not lecturing aka Kumiko style.

one of the problems peapri has to deal with when playtesting and editing is that these games are originally in the japanese language which works differently than english and other european languages. As you know, Japanese as well as chinese and possibly korean are made of big characters that can fit into a one square block, and a sentence is just one series of these characters one after another (and with punctuation). In contrast, for english and other european languages, words are created via letters and alphabets (as well as accents eg grave, acute for french) and words are separated by spaces and they form a sentence.